Mary J. Blige, Cher, Jimmy Buffett, Kool & The Gang, others are 2024 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announce latest inductees for 2024

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced the latest inductees for 2024, with a diverse list of 16 artists and musical figures.

This year’s inductees include R&B/rock pioneer Big Mama Thornton, pop stars Cher and Dionne Warwick, as well as rock legends Peter Frampton, Foreigner, and Ozzy Osbourne. Surprisingly, Jimmy Buffett was also honored with an induction, despite never being nominated before.

The list of inductees also includes the Dave Matthews Band, Mary J. Blige, and A Tribe Called Quest. Warwick and MC5 were also recognized with the “musical excellence” award, after previously being nominated without being selected by voters. The announcement of the inductees was made during an episode of “American Idol” themed around the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Among the performers category, artists like Mary J. Blige, Cher, Dave Matthews Band, Foreigner, Peter Frampton, Kool & The Gang, Ozzy Osbourne, and A Tribe Called Quest made the cut. The Musical Influence Award was presented to Alexis Korner, John Mayall, and Big Mama Thornton.

Additionally, the Musical Excellence Award went to Jimmy Buffett, MC5, Dionne Warwick, and Norman Whitfield. Suzanne de Passe received the Ahmet Ertegun Award for her contributions to the music industry.

While some notable artists like Mariah Carey, Sade, and Oasis did not make it in this year, the inductees represent a wide range of music genres and eras.

The induction of artists like Frampton and Osbourne, who have had significant impacts on the music industry, highlights the diverse range of talent being celebrated by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.