Adagios: The Best Relaxing Classical Music

Physical Sale:

In today’s hectic world, it is increasingly important to relax and take time out for yourself. This special collection of beautiful and serene adagios will help you do just that. The set features over two hours of soothing music, including many slow movements that are at the emotional core of timeless and best‐loved masterpieces. You’ll be captivated by the variety of wonderful and instantly recognizable melodies heard here: the wistful spiritual from Dvořák’s ‘New World’ Symphony, the exquisite interweaving lines of Bach’s ‘Air on a G String’, and some of Mozart’s most impressive showcases for how to really make an instrument sing in the Clarinet Concerto and ‘Elvira Madigan’ Piano Concerto. And evocative and atmospheric adagios – such as Grieg’s ‘Morning’ and the slow movement from Beethoven’s ‘Pastoral’ Symphony with its distinctive birdsong calls in the flute, oboe and clarinet – will transport you to another world, far away from the stresses and strains of everyday life. Other highlights include some of the most enchanting slow movements in the piano repertoire – such as the poignant Adagio cantabile from Beethoven’s ‘Pathétique’ Sonata and stunning concerto movements by Chopin, Ravel and Rachmaninoff – Fauré’s intense Élégie for cello, and Mahler’s tender and heartbreakingly romantic Adagietto. The emotional power of these adagios is brought to the fore by first‐rate orchestras such as the Staatskapelle Dresden, Philharmonia and Royal Philharmonic, under the baton of eminent conductors such as Theodore Kuchar, Herbert Blomstedt and Rudolf Barshai.
A moment to relax, to withdraw from an increasingly hectic life, overfed with stimuli from work, society obligations and social networks: this music will calm down your jittery nerves, and will take you on slow waves of soothing melodies to a world of pure sound and tranquillity. A generous selection of the most famous slow movements: Air (Bach), Adagio (Marcello), Adagio (Rachmaninoff 2nd piano concerto), Scene at the Brook (Beethoven’s Pastorale), The Adagietto from the movie ‘Death in Venice’ (Mahler) and many more.
Excellent performances by Staatskapelle Dresden, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Philharmonia Orchestra and soloists Klára Würtz and Misha Goldstein.

Antonín Dvořák
00:00:00 Symphony No. 9 in E minor Op. 95 “From the New World”: I. Adagio – Allegro molto- Staatskapelle Berlin & Otmar Suitner
Johann Sebastian Bach
00:11:48 Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068: II. Air-Virtuosi Saxoniae & Ludwig Güttler

Johannes Brahms
00:16:05 Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90: III. Poco allegretto – Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra & Jaap van Zweden

Ludwig van Beethoven
00:22:05 Piano Sonata No. 8 in C minor “Pathétique”: II Agagio cantabile – Misha Goldstein
00:40:04 Symphony No. 6 in F Major, Op. 68 “Pastoral”: II Andante molto mosso (Szene am Bach) – Staatskapelle Dresden & Herbert Blomstedt
00:52:44 Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 37: II. Largo – Shoko Sugitani, Berliner Symphoniker & Gerard Oskamp
01:15:11 Piano Sonata No. 12 in C-Sharp Minor “Moonlight”: I. Adagio sostenuto – Misha Goldstein

Alessandro Marcello
00:26:52 Oboe Concerto in D Minor: II. Adagio – Leipzig New Bach Collegium Musicum & Burkhard Glaetzner
Maurice Ravel
00:30:44 Piano Concerto in G Major: II. Adagio Assai – Klára Würtz, Theodore Kuchar & Janáček Philharmonic Orchestra
Johannes Brahms
01:05:28 Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77: II. Adagio – Borika van den Booren, Berliner Symphoniker & Eduardo Marturet

Edvard Grieg
01:20:54 Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Op. 46: I. Morning Mood – Royal Philharmonic Orchestra & John Rigby
Frédéric Chopin
01:25:06 Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor Op.11: II. Romance. Larghetto – Paolo Giacometti, Rotterdam Young Philharmonic & Arie van Beek
Gabriel Fauré
01:35:54 Élégie, Op. 24 – Timora Rosler, Zilina State Chamber Orchestra & Dwight Bennett

Gustav Mahler
01:42:22 Symphony No. 5: IV. Adagietto. sehr langsam – Junge Deutsche Philharmonie & Rudolph Barshai

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
01:50:39 Piano Concerto No. 21 in C Major, K. 467: II. Andante “Elvira Madigan” – Klára Würtz, Prima la musica & Dirk Vermeulen02:07:49 Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra in A Major, K. 622: II. Adagio – Oskar Michallik, Staatskapelle Dresden &
Siegfried Kurz
02:25:58 Piano Concerto No. 23 in A Major K. 488: II. Andante – Derek Han, Philharmonia Orchestra & Paul Freeman

Sergei Rachmaninoff
01:56:42 Piano Concerto No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 18: II. Adagio sostenuto – Klára Würtz, National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine & Vladimir Sirenko

Franz Schubert
02:15:09 Symphony No. 5 in B-Flat Major, D. 485: II. Andante con moto – Staatskapelle Dresden & Herbert Blomstedt

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
02:32:18 Serenade for Strings, Op. 48: III. Élégie. Larghetto elegiac – Ensemble Instrumental Musica Viva & Alexander Rudin