NPP Regional race: Chairman Kutin take early lead

The Central Regional Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Robert Kutin has been tipped to retain position he occupies.

According to a research conducted by a private firm, Institute of Democratic Research Africa (iDRA), Mr Kutin is tipped to win at least 85% of total votes cast in Sunday’s Regional Delegates Conference.

Horace Ekow Ewusi was also highly tipped to win the Vice Chairmanship position by the survey which was conducted in all 23 Constituencies in the region to solicit responses from respondents from each constituency.

The iDRA survey further revealed that 8 out of the 9 candidates in Chairman Kutin’s team are highly projected to win their respective regional positions.

The survey was based on 5 Key Voter Concerns namely:

  1. Commitment of an aspirant towards party work prior to 2016 elections in the region
  2. Contribution of an aspirant towards election 2016 in the region
  3. Leverage to the corridors of power
  4. Loyalty to the party
  5. Personal financial capacity and ability to use own resources to support 2020 campaign

The sample size for the survey was 253; it was conducted in 23 constituencies.

Respondents appointed to the starling performance of Chairman Robert Kutin Jnr in the 2016 elections in the region as part of the reasons for endorsing him for the position.

The NPP in the 2016 elections won 53% of Presidential votes and 19 seats out of the 23 Constituencies in the region.

Details of the polls are as follows:

Regional Chairman

Robert Kutin Jnr (85%)

Hon. Benjamin Ayeh (13%)

E.K Dadson (2%)

Regional Ist Vice Chairman

Horace Ekow Ewusi (43%)

Joe Donkor (40%)

Agyeman kessie (15%)

Undecided (3%)

Regional 2nd Vice Chairman

Frank Hutchful (52%)

Kingsly Karikari Bondzie (43%)

Ebo Jackson (5%)

Regional Secretary

Richard Takyi-Mensah (66%)

George Kwadwo Ayisi (32%)

Undecided (2%)

Regional Deputy Secretary

Sarah Afful (71%)

Murtala Mohammed (29%)

Regional Treasurer

Dr Joseph Essibu  (72%)

Hon. Sam Quarm  (28%)

Regional Organiser

Percy Dennis (62%)

Francis Ejaku Donkoh   (25%)

John Amoah (10%)

Emmanuel Bruno (3%)

Regional NASARA coordinator

Abubakar Osuman (65%)

Abubakar Alhasan  (18%)

Gafaru Seidu (10%)

Alhaji Say Mallah  (7%)

Regional Women Organiser

Charlotte Adwoa Antwi  (52%)

Agnes Owusu (37%)

Evangelist Gifty Acquah  (11%)

Regional Youth Organiser

Anthony Sackey  (56%)

Kenneth Quansah  (40%)

Justice Asiedu  10 (4%)

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Stay Informed | Stay Smart - Get our daily updates

You May Also Like

Wontumi and other NPP officials tussle over a property in Kumasi

Chairman Wontumi claims he has 99 years lease deal with Ezekiel Owusu Afriyie and not his company which was sold as a result of a judgement debt over the property.

Leadership is a difficult job – John Dramani Mahama

Former President of the Republic of Ghana, John Dramani Mahama has said that being a leader is a difficult job.

Nana Addo nominates Naa Torshie Lamptey as deputy Special Prosecutor.

President Nana Akufo-Addo has nominated lawyer Mavis Jane Cynthia Naa Torshie Lamptey to deputise for Martin Amidu as Special Prosecutor.

‘I’m a wounded lion – NDC’s Allotey Jacobs cries

Speaking on on Peace FM last Wednesday, Mr Jacobs said: “I’m a wounded lion, I’m very bitter because of the treatment the NDC headquarters have meted out to me by undermining my chairmanship in the Central Region”.