Akufo-Addo names 36 women for MMDCE position

36 of the 212 persons named by President Akufo-Addo to occupy the vacant positions of Metropolitan, Municipal, and District Chief Executives (MMDCEs) across the country are women.

This represents only 17% of the total list announced by the Minister for Local Government, Hajia Alima Mahama in Accra today [Wednesday].

The Brong Ahafo Region had the most number of women appointees followed by the Greater Accra Region, with 6 and 5 women respectively to occupy the position.

President Akufo-Addo ahead of his election to office, gave assurances that he would appoint more female appointees to serve in his government as a way of encouraging women participation in the governance process.

His New Patriotic Party (NPP) election 2016 manifesto promised to appoint at least thirty percent (30%) of women into public office positions.

Out of the 37 substantive and regional ministers named by the President, only 10 of them, representing 27% females.

See the breakdown of the list of women appointed as MMDCEs below:

Ashanti region

Martina Appiah-Nyantakyi       – Ahafo Ano North

Beatrice Serwah Derkyi              – Ejisu-Juaben

Mary Boatemaa Marfo                – Sekyere East

Catherine Reckling                     – Sekyere South


Brong-Ahafo region

Mary Okone                                  – Banda

Mary Ameyaa                               – Dormaa West

Gifty Akosa Arthur                      – Nkoranza North

Diana Attaa-Kusiwaa                  – Nkoranza South

Evelyn Ama Kum-Richardson  – Sunyani East

Charity Foriwaa Dwommoh      – Tain


Central region

Felicia Aba Hagan                      – Abura/Asebu/Kwamankese

Justina Marigold Assan            – Agona West


Eastern region

Florence Governor                     –  Ayensuano

Comfort Asante                          – New Juaben

Margaret Darko                         – Suhum


Greater Accra region

Sarah Dugbakie Pobee                 – Ada East

Janet Tulasu Mensah                   – Ga East

Gladys Mann Dedey                     – La Dade Kotopon

Jennifer Dede Afagbedzi             – La Nkwantanang Madina

Adjeley Twum Gyamrah             – Ledzokuku-Kwowor


Northern region

Alele Veronica Heming                – Bole

Mariama Iddrisu                         – Sagnarigu

Hajia Ayishetu Seidu                   – Savelugu-Nanton

Hajia Amama Ayibu                    – Tolon


Upper East region

Victoria Ayamba                         – Bawku East

Agnes Anamoo                           – Nabdam

Zubeiru Abdulair                       – Pusiga


Upper West region

Nadi Sanda Imoro                      – Daffiama Bussie Issa

Katherine Lankono                     – Nadowli

Christine Bonbbanye-Amadu       – Jirapa


Volta region

Josephine Ohene Boateng            – Adaklu

Millicent Kabuki Carboo               – Biakoye

Ella Boateng                                     – South Dayi


Western region         

Henrietta Mary Eyison                – Ahanta West

Martha Kwayie Manu                  – Juaboso

Helena Appiah                              – Wasa Amenfi West

By: Jonas Nyabor/citifmonline.com/Ghana

Published on 26 April 2017 | 4:57 pm at Source