Georgina Wood sworn-in as Council of State member – Starr Fm

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo Addo has sworn in immediate past Chief Justice Mrs. Georgina Theodora Wood as member of the Council of State.

Madam Wood’s addition to the council will make the 25 membership of the council complete which was short by one person.

According to the constitution the 25-member Council of State should be made up of 10 elected regional representatives, the president of the national House of Chiefs and 11 appointed members by the president which must constitute one retired Chief Justice, a retired Inspector General of Police and a retired Chief of Defense Staff.

Madam Georgina Theodora wood retired on June 8 2017 after serving as chief justice for the country for ten years.

The Council of State has a very significant role to play in the governance of the country, as it is enjoined by the 1992 Constitution (Chapter 9, Article 89) to “counsel the President in the performance of his functions”.

Published on 20 June 2017 | 2:00 pm at Source